Autopilot is working barelly and not usable.

Stefan Jakubowski shared this bug 22 months ago
Reported

Dear SE Team.

I am quite new to the game but reaching it´s limits. I play the game without any mods or changings. I just installed it and played (I acivated experimental mode but never used a script or the programming block. That was planned for later doings but i never got there).

Actually the vanilla autopilot / remote control block is my biggest problem. If it ever worked propperly before, it is not working for me yet.

For example, i reported a problem with my first test drone not long ago.

What i found out was:

Phenomenon 1:

- I created a drone which i could controll remotely fine. It had everything needed on it. (I was on a 1g planet)

- I was able to give the remote controll block / autopilot easy commands like: "Fly to this GPS coordinate and fly back. Dock on the connector... turn off battery and engines and so on." Worked somewhat okay.

- If i started the autopilot manually at the remote controll block during the drone was connected to my base-connector the hole drone turbines stopped working. When i unlock the connector then the drone was doing nothing. Autopilot was on but all turbines had lost the direction setting (Which is shown directly after there name. Left/right/up/down... there was no direction text anymore). After switching the autopilot off i was not able to fly the drone. Turbines were not responding my inputs. Even dismantle and rebuild the turbines did nothing.

- So i build the hole drone new. This time i placed a cockpit (i heared about setting directions for a vehicle is done with placing a cockpit so i hopet that this will solve the problem) and dismantled it. But after switching the autopilot on during connected to my base-connector... same problem occurs.