Black screen after joining friends game

Andrew Simpson shared this bug 5 months ago
Reported

Hi Support,

My 2 friends and I have been playing a scenario for a few months without issue.

I run the game and the 2 friends join my game. Since the new update when one of the friends joins my game he gets in but everything is black. He can see all HUD and HUD markers, he can walk around but all is black.

We got him to create a new scenario and we joined his game. He could see but when I joined him, I had the same issue that he had.

Then the 2nd friend created a new scenario, we both joined his game and neither of us could see.

The 2nd friend doesn't get the black screen at all.

We have tried deleting shader cache files on all machines, restarted steam and updated to the latest GFX drivers and nothing has helped.

Please can you let me know if there is anything else we can try or is this a bug that you need to fix.

Kind regards

Andrew

Replies (6)

photo

i did the same with the deletion of shaders and the config. it worked the first time but now its not working

photo

Hello, Andrew!

Thank you for writing to us, and we sincerely apologize for the issue you have been experiencing.

The lobby you've joined is modded (has active MODs/Scripts), or is it vanilla (has no active MODs/Scripts). If it's modded, please try disabling all MODs on this lobby, or create a vanilla lobby, or join Keen's Official Servers to check if the issue is related to the MODs active on your friend's lobby, or if it is general for other worlds/servers as well.

Also, does the same issue occur when you play in single-player mode as well?

To resolve this issue, did you (or your friends) also try verifying the game files on Steam? If not, verify the game files by following the below steps;

• Right-click on Space Engineers in Steam Library → Properties → Installed Files → Verify Integrity of Game Files (wait until all files are verified successfully)