This object is in archive! 

Server Desync causing major problems

Ryan Berge shared this bug 2 years ago
Won't Fix

Hello, I am fairly new to the game but I've been playing with a couple friends on a dedicated server for a couple weeks now and we've been enjoying it, but we're running into a wall that potentially could push me away from continuing to play the game. We're playing on Survival, on a planetary start, and we've just progressed to beginning to build in space, and my ships keep exploding for no reason.

The entire time playing on this server character movement has seemed a little iffy; I tend to slide around and rubber-band when walking around my base, which suggests to me that the client and server don't always fully agree where my character is. However, it wasn't really a problem when it was just that.

So, fast-forward to a couple days ago and we're all making our first space-worthy ships and I want build a new home up near an asteroid. Everything is fine at first, then I remember the game's distinction between "Ships" and "Stations" and I figure this base isn't going anywhere at the moment so I convert it to a Station.

Well, the sliding around and rubber-banding returns, but much more pronounced than before and, more relevantly, because I'm in space every time my character glitches to the side or something my magnetic boots break their connection, so that feature is now effectively disabled. Trying to move around on the grid itself is impossible so I go to convert it back to a ship, except all I'm told is a generic error message telling me the operation failed.

At this time I'm also looking over at my solar panels, which are connected to a Rotor and Hinge combo, and every frame they seem to be in a different location which seems, well, alarming.