Safe Zone filters should have an Apply Changes button
Any changes done inside an active Safe Zone's filter configuration are applied immediately and without warning.
This makes changing settings such as the player filter from whitelist to blacklist deadly and costly, as you have no chance of removing or adding yourself to the list before you are forcibly ejected at high speed.
At least the dialog box doesn't automatically close when you end up too far away. If you fail to change it back before the dialog box closes, you are permanently stuck outside until it runs out of zone chips or power.