About water.

E'Luna shared this feedback 3 years ago
Submitted

Sunshines. I just love your game, even i haven't played it for a while, but i just get read topics and as a dev i wish to share little idea how would i make water mechanics easily and pleasant.

As i know, planets is just point actors, so we can attach to it another sphere/chunk segment plane based on radius from planet's center that will work like water, and just will fill all deep underground, fill valleys and lowlands. (btw who even needs planetary cores.. it is pleasant dig it once, but it makes significant cost for voxel's boundary)

Then about physics, any actor that too close to planet now checks gravity, so similarly we can check it for "underwater" state, just through comparison player or ship position to planet's center with "water" sphere radius.

And here we also have grateful but underestimated pressurisation mechanics, what we can use to handle player's "underwater feelings" with post process effects, as well as floatage mechanics, which can be calculated similarly as gravity mechanics. So if our ship will be depressurized underwater, we can use vacuum similar effect, but with water splashes and some scene depth fog post process for "murky" water effect, that we can reduce to increase the visibility distance under water if we are in the air within our ship, thereby also compensating difficulty of separating the air/water visibility. Not perfect, but cheap.

About hard landing to water surface. I feel that will be not really pleasant to hit water just as ground with ruin whole ship, understandable whole physical accuracy, but not pleasant. So we can just force huge speed drop with short underwater travel time and with huge water splashes.

With possibility to hit ground that lies underwater, if speed was too great.